Dino Melaye congratulates Adeleke, says victory is good omen


A former Chairman, Senate Committee on the Federal Capital Territory, Dino Melaye, has congratulated the Peoples Democratic Party’s governorship candidate in the Osun State election, Senator Ademola Adeleke, on his victory, describing it as “a good omen for the PDP come 2023.”

Melaye, who represented Kogi West Senatorial District in the National Assembly, in a statement on Sunday, said the victory was well-deserved “considering the fact that Adeleke was brazenly robbed in the 2018 governorship contest in the state.”

He, however, urged the former lawmaker to be magnanimous in victory in the interest of the people of the state and as well justify the confidence reposed in him by way of his election.

He also rejoiced with the PDP’s presidential candidate in the 2023 elections, Alhaji Atiku Abubakar, for the Osun victory, saying it was a good omen for the party.

“This is a good omen for our party and signs of things to come in 2023. The victory of our party in Osun State is an indication of the confidence of ordinary Nigerians in the ability of the PDP to change the narrative and deliver good governance to all,” Melaye said.

He also felicitated with the people of the state for the smooth conduct of the election, affirming that they were the real winners as they had been able to freely choose their leader for the next four years.

It,s been reported that the Independent National Electoral Commission declared Adeleke the winner of the Osun governorship election.

The Returning Officer for the election and Vice Chancellor of the University of Lagos, Prof. Oluwatoyin Ogundipe, announced that Adeleke got a total of 403,371 votes beating the incumbent, Adegboyega Oyetola of the All Progressives Congress, who got 375,027 votes in a keenly contested race.

He said, “I declare Adeleke Ademola Jackson Nurudeen, on behalf of the chairman of INEC, of the PDP, having satisfied the requirement of the law, is hereby declared the winner and he is returned elected.”

According to the total votes recorded by the electoral umpire, the PDP won 17 of the 30 Local Government Areas of the state, while the APC won the remaining 13.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More