The All Progressives Congress has announced that 12 aspirants will be participating in the screening process ahead of the party’s primary election scheduled for February 17.

This was disclosed in a statement issued in Abuja by the National Organizing Secretary of the APC, Suleiman Arugungu.

The race to choose a viable candidate for the party in Edo State kicked off in January with 23 aspirants expressing interest.

But only 12 candidates have so far bought the N50m Expression of Interest and Nomination forms.

The successful aspirants are the immediate past state Chairman of APC, Gideon Ikhine; ex-Minister of State, National Economic Planning,  Clem Agba; senator representing Edo Central, Monday Okpebholo; erstwhile deputy governor, Lucky Imasuen, former governorship candidate, Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu and lawmaker representing Etsako Federal Constituency, Anamero Dekeri.

Others are ex-Zonal Organising Secretary for South-South, Blessing Agbohmere; House of Representatives member, Dennis Idahosa, former permanent secretary in the Ministry of Agriculture and Food Security, Ernest Afolabi Umakhihe; Col. David Imuse, Major General Charles Airhiavbere (retd) and Emmanuel Momoh.


Meanwhile, a former Minister of Sports and Special Duties, Prof. Taoheed Adedoja, has been chosen as head of the screening committee.

The seven-man committee will be inaugurated on Thursday at the national headquarters of the party in Abuja.

According to the statement, a five-man committee will be inaugurated for the screening appeal.

The appeal committee, which will be headed by Senator Ibrahim Danbaba and Smart Iheazor as secretary, also have Senator Ibrahim Oloriegbe, Adeoye Adelakun,  Darlington Dick, Lawal  Kenken, Margaret Duru and Sani Danjuma.

On the other hand, the Screening Appeal Committee have Bisi Odewumi, Ngozi Ononiwu and Abubakar Sidiq as members.