Buhari names rail stations after Saraki, Soyinka, Tinubu, others.


Nigerian President Muhammadu Buhari on Monday approved the naming of some railway stations along the Lagos-Ibadan and Itakpe/Ajaokuta/Aladja/Warri corridors after some citizens.

Minister of Transportation Rotimi Amaechi in a statement by his spokesman, Eric Ojiekwe, said that the deserving citizens have contributed to the progress and development of their respective communities and the nation at large.

Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, former Kwara State Governor late Olusola Saraki, former Lagos State Governor Ahmed Tinubu and Nigerian Nobel Laureate Wole Soyinka were among those honoured.

Ajaokuta station was named after the late Saraki.

Others are Aremo Segun Osoba(Olodo station), Chief Ladoka Akintola (Omio-Adio station), Chief Obafemi Awolowo (Ibadan station), Chief Alex Ekwueme (Operation Control Centre).

Alhaji Adamu Attah (Itakpe station), Admiral Augustus Aikhomu (Itogbo station), Brigadier General George Innih (Agenebode station), Anthony Eromosele Enahoro (Uromi station), Chief Tom Ikimi (Ekehen station) and Brig. Gen. Samuel Osaigbovo Ogbemudia (rtd) (Igbanke station).

Others according to the statement include Goodluck Ebele Jonathan (Agbor Station Complex), Brigadier General David Ejoor (Abraka station), Micheal Ibru (Opara station), Alfred Rewane (Ujevwu station) and Vice Admiral Mike Akhigbe (Railway Village, Agbor).

However, the Nigerian military and political leader who served as military head of state from 1976 to 1979 and later as President of Nigeria from 1999 to 2007, Olusegun Obasanjo, was missing in the list.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More